Posted by: Jennifer Sage | January 27, 2008

When you feel like quitting

I don’t think there’s a soul on earth who hasn’t encountered days where he or she felt like quitting, or days when you are so discouraged by all the hard work you’ve done, yet haven’t yet seen the results of that work. Everyone has down days, everyone gets frustrated, everyone encounters obstacles on the way to their goals, everyone has felt like throwing in the towel.It’s how you handle that frustration that sets apart the successful people from those who give up and then just talk about how nothing works, or spend their lives envious of those “lucky” people who get everything they want.

At the start of this new year, I found myself in a place of frustration, with doubt creeping into my thoughts, even though I do my affirmations daily and truly believe in the power of the Law of Attraction. It is very helpful in these moments to have a coach to help you see what you might be missing. My “coach” is my Mastermind Group that I am involved in through a training program with John Assaraf of The Secret. We had our Mastermind call the second week of January, at the height of my frustration, and I expressed to the group my issues. I pride myself in usually not succumbing to these moments, and in keeping my spirits up despite the fact that everything isn’t quite the way I’d like it to be at that moment. But I trust this Mastermind group and felt comfortable enough to seek their advice.

So I asked them: Why am I not manifesting? What isn’t working? What am I missing? For the past few months, I have believed that 2008 will be the best year of my life, but so far, these first 2 weeks have basically…. well, suffice it to say, it wasn’t how I had visualized it would be.

The group reminded me about patience, and to remember the Law of Gender, or Gestation, which states that for anything to manifest it must have an incubation or gestation period (like a baby takes nine months, trees and flowers have their own gestation periods). In order to reap, you must first sow. Ideas are spiritual seeds and will move into form or physical results. Your goals will manifest when the time is right. Everything in your life has a gestation period. Don’t give up too early! Wait for the gestation period to bring it into form.

John talks about how lack of patience with the Law of Attraction is like digging up your seeds way too early. You plant them, water them with love, dig out the weeds so they have room to grow, and make sure they get enough sun. But wait! Where are the flowers I am expecting to see and enjoy? Why aren’t they there now? Maybe something is wrong….so you dig them up, convinced that the process isn’t working. And you see that the shoots had sprouted from their seeds, and were just about to break the surface of the soil! Had you just waited just a little longer, your seeds, your ideas, would have flourished.

I am here to say that the advice my Mastermind Group gave me was spot on! Beginning the very next day, I began to see the results of my affirmations. I had things happen to me that could only be explained through the Law of Attraction.

I want to share an excerpt from an amazing book, Think and Grow Rich, by Napoleon Hill.

Before success comes in any person’s life, they are sure to meet with much temporary defeat, and perhaps, some failure. When defeat overtakes a person the easiest and logical thing to do is to quit.That is exactly what the majority of people do.More than five hundred of the most successful men this country has ever known told the author their gratest success came just one step BEYOND the point at which defeat had overtaken them.Failure is a trickster with a keen sense of irony and cunning. It takes great delight in tripping one when success is almost within reach.   

After speaking with my Mastermind Group, and after reading this, I emerged with a renewed sense that I WILL accomplish great things in my life; I experienced a surge in my mind, body and soul that I CAN achieve all of my goals.And YOU can too. Start today seeing in your mind the person you want to become and the life you want to lead.

You’re not going to quit, you’re not going to throw in the towel, you’re not going to be one of those doubters who spread negativity by saying all the good things happen to everyone else.

There’s a part of you that wants to expand into a greater YOU, and a part of you that wants to hold you in what you’ve known for years, which is your old patterns. Your old patterns are holding you back from your greatness.  But in order to break free of them, you’ve got to take risks, and you’ve got to be patient. If you don’t, then you’ll stay mired in the same ho-hum existence. You’ve heard the expression, If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.

Get out there. Take risks. Believe. Be patient. And never give up!

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

Add to Technorati Favorites

Responses

  1. Great article, and the Laws of Attraction, Marketing and List Building will work as long you have a great system to back up principles, and people in place especially to train and mentor each of the individuals… Make sure you do your research and investigate the people involved in the marketing process and the results they have achieved will be a good indicator of the potential of what you can expect…

    Much Success,

    Franco G

  2. this was such an honest, true testimonial, thank you for sharing! it is true that if we were a little more patient on the journey we’d be able to trust that success/affirmation will come, in due time, maybe not at the time we want. this quote came across my desk and it relates so well i wanted to share…
    “the line between failure and success is so fine that we are often on the line and do not know it. How many a man has thrown up his hands at a time when a little more effort, a little more patience, would have achieved success. A little more effort and what seemed a hopeless failure may turn to glorious success!”…..elbert hubbard


Leave a Reply

Categories

